AEP makes Personnel Changes on Executive Level

American Electric Power (AEP) today announced organizational and executive leadership changes to support the company’s strategic goals and future success. The changes will be effective Jan. 1, 2019.

“These changes will leverage and expand the operational expertise, experience, leadership and industry knowledge of the AEP team as we focus on enhanced service for customers, building smarter energy infrastructure and delivering new technologies and custom energy solutions,” said Nicholas K. Akins, AEP chairman, president and chief executive officer.

AmonSloat will replace Lonni L. Dieck, senior vice president and treasurer, who is retiring from the company. Lisa R. Groff, 49, formerly managing director – Risk and Insurance Management, has been promoted to vice president and chief risk officer, reporting to Sloat. In addition to overseeing Corporate Risk, Groff will have responsibility for corporate Emergency Response and Business Continuity.

“Lonni has been an incredibly valuable member of the AEP team for 27 years. We will greatly miss her and her contributions, but we wish Lonni and her family all the best in retirement,” Akins said.

Stephan T. Haynes, 57, senior vice president – Strategic Initiatives and chief risk officer, has been named senior vice president – Strategy & Innovation, with added responsibility for Innovation & Technology, and Operations & Performance Transformation. Both Sloat and Haynes will report to Brian X. Tierney, executive vice president and chief financial officer.

Raja Sundararajan, 43, will replace Sloat as president and chief operating officer for AEP Ohio, with responsibility for all aspects of electric service for AEP Ohio’s 1.5 million customers. Sundararajan is currently vice president – Regulatory Services for AEP. Matthew J. Satterwhite, 45, currently president and chief operating officer, Kentucky Power, has been named vice president – Regulatory Services to replace Sundararajan. Satterwhite will have responsibility for AEP’s regulatory activities before 11 state regulatory commissions and the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). He will report to Charles R. Patton, executive vice president – External Affairs. Brett Mattison, 54, will become president and chief operating officer for Kentucky Power, with responsibility for all aspects of electric service for Kentucky Power’s 169,000 customers. Mattison is currently director – Customer Services & Marketing for Southwestern Electric Power Co. Sundararajan and Mattison will report to Paul Chodak III, executive vice president – AEP Utilities.

Previous articleAEP makes leadership changes effective in January
Next articleTrent joins SCE and Edison International Board of Directors
The Clarion Energy Content Team is made up of editors from various publications, including POWERGRID International, Power Engineering, Renewable Energy World, Hydro Review, Smart Energy International, and Power Engineering International. Contact the content lead for this publication at

No posts to display