Entergy Names Bakken as Chief Nuclear Officer

New Orleans-based Entergy Corporation  announced that A. Christopher “Chris” Bakken III has been named executive vice president and chief nuclear officer for Entergy Corporation, effective April 6.

Bakken replaces Jeff Forbes, who announced his retirement last year. Bakken will report to Leo Denault, chairman and CEO, and he will be based at Entergy’s nuclear headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi.

In his new leadership role, Bakken is responsible for executive oversight of the safe, secure and reliable operation of Entergy’s nuclear plants located in New York, Massachusetts, Vermont, Michigan, Louisiana, Mississippi and Arkansas, as well as the company’s management services to the Cooper Nuclear Station for the Nebraska Public Power District. Bakken will also be responsible for building and strengthening relationships with external stakeholders, while becoming an engaged company representative to the industry.

“At a time when the nuclear business is experiencing a transformation, Chris has the unique combination of skills required to help manage us back to a best–in-class organization,” Denault said. “Chris has a proven track record as a global business executive equipped with the necessary technical expertise and demonstrated ability to effectively rebuild organizations to perform at a sustained level of operational excellence. His collaborative leadership style, strong interpersonal skills and diverse portfolio of experiences give me confidence in his ability to successfully lead our 6,000-person nuclear organization in upholding our commitment to operate a world-class energy business that creates sustainable value for all our stakeholders.”

Bakken’s 30-year career began in 1982 as a test engineer at Duquesne Light Company, where he spent nine years in the control room as a licensed senior reactor operator. Since then, he has held positions of increasing responsibility in operations for both domestic and global companies including American Electric Power, Public Service Enterprise Group, British Energy and EDF Energy.

Previous articleKlappa Retiring as WEC Energy Group CEO by May 2016
Next articleSouthwest Power Pool Elects Edwards, Scherr to Board of Directors
The Clarion Energy Content Team is made up of editors from various publications, including POWERGRID International, Power Engineering, Renewable Energy World, Hydro Review, Smart Energy International, and Power Engineering International. Contact the content lead for this publication at Jennifer.Runyon@ClarionEvents.com.

No posts to display