Former DOE Head Moniz Appointed to Terrestrial Energy Advisory Board

Terrestrial Energy on Wednesday announced the appointment of former U.S. Secretary of Energy Ernest Moniz to its Advisory Board. 

Moniz is the Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Physics and Engineering Systems Emeritus at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and serves as special advisor to the President of MIT. Moniz served as Secretary of Energy from 2013 – 2017.

“We require breakthrough energy technologies to achieve our goals for a clean, prosperous and secure energy future,” said Moniz. “Innovative nuclear technologies such as Terrestrial Energy’s Integral Molten Salt Reactor have the potential to meet that challenge. I am pleased to be supporting Terrestrial Energy as they move forward with their project.”

“We are delighted to have Dr. Moniz join Terrestrial Energy’s team,” said Simon Irish, CEO of Terrestrial Energy. “Dr. Moniz’s deep policy and technical experience will be a great asset to Terrestrial Energy as it continues to expand its government and industry engagements, and to meet its goal of commissioning the first commercial IMSR power plants in the 2020s.”

Before serving as Secretary of Energy, he was a member of the MIT faculty from 1973 to 2013, where he was the Founding Director of

the MIT Energy Initiative and Director of the Laboratory for Energy and the Environment, the Head of the MIT Department of Physics, and Director of the Bates Linear Accelerator Center.

Moniz is a Fellow of the American Physics Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Humboldt Foundation, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and inaugural Distinguished Fellow of the Emerson Collective. He is the Co-Chairman and CEO of the Nuclear Threat Initiative, and also CEO of Energy Futures Initiative, Inc., a non-profit energy innovation policy institute. Dr.

Moniz received a Bachelor of Science degree summa cum laude in physics from Boston College, a doctorate in theoretical physics from Stanford University, and nine honorary doctorates.


Previous articlePwC: Last Year’s Utility M&A Activity Pales Behind 2016
Next articleDOE forms new Office of Cybersecurity, Energy Security, and Emergency Response

No posts to display