NARUC’s Kavulla Appoints Mroz and Lange to Lead Committees

National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Travis Kavulla has appointed new chairs to lead two of the Association’s high-profile committees.

Richard S. Mroz, president of the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities, will chair the Committee on Infrastructure. He was named by Gov. Chris Christie as president to the N.J. Board of Public Utilities on October 6, 2014.

Mroz also serves as a member of the governor’s cabinet and on NARUC’s Subcommittee on Nuclear Issues—Waste Disposal. He is the voting member representing New Jersey to the Organization of PJM States, Inc., the official representative organization designated to interact with the regional transmission organization and is a member of the New Mexico State University Center for Public Utilities Advisory Council. He has been co-counsel and legislative agent to the New Jersey Conference of Mayors and was a member of the New Jersey Supreme Court Committee on the Unauthorized Practice of Law.

“I”Ëœm honored to have been asked by President Kavulla to serve as chairman of the Committee on Critical Infrastructure,” said Mroz. “New Jersey is a leader in seeking and implementing measures and solutions to protect critical infrastructure and assets, and focusing on issues such as risk mitigation and cybersecurity. I hope to share my knowledge and experience of New Jersey’s response to disastrous events, both man-made and natural, dating back to 9/11 and more recently with Superstorm Sandy with my fellow committee members as we work on issues of national security; protecting the nation’s energy, water and telecommunications infrastructure.”

Nancy Lange, of the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission, will serve as chair of the Committee on Energy Resources and the Environment (ERE).  Lange was appointed to the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission by Gov. Mark Dayton on March 4, 2013, and currently serves as vice chair. In addition to her ERE role, she also serves on NARUC’s Washington Action Committee.

Before joining the Minnesota PUC, Commissioner Lange served as Manager of Policy and Engagement at the Center for Energy and Environment. She holds a B.S. from Iowa State University and an M.A. in Public Policy from the University of Minnesota.

“I am honored to serve the ERE Committee and NARUC in this capacity,” said Lange. “The ERE Committee has a long tradition of exploring the intersection between energy and the environment, the role of new technologies, and innovative approaches in regulatory decision-making. I look forward to working with my fellow ERE Committee members on these timely topics.”

The appointments “will help the Association and our members further the cause of strengthening effective public regulation,” said Kavulla. “These individuals are capable leaders and possess ample knowledge that will benefit our members and the communities they serve greatly.”

NARUC’s eight standing committees propose resolutions that, if approved by the Board of Directors, set Association policy on congressional, federal, and industry matters. The committees, populated by state public service commissioners, also hold educational sessions and panel discussions on relevant issues to best serve NARUC members. Committee chairs are appointed by the NARUC President for a one-year term and may be reappointed for a maximum of three consecutive terms.

Previous articleArch Coal files bankruptcy reorganization plan that would keep it intact
Next articleThe C-Suite Insights on Making Energy Storage Viable

No posts to display