Oglethorpe Power Corp. elects chairmen of board

Oglethorpe Power Corp.‘s board of directors has re-elected Benny W. Denham of Sycamore, Ga. as its chairman and Marshall S. Millwood of Gainesville, Ga. as vice chairman. The election took place at a board meeting following the Oglethorpe Power annual meeting.

This is Denham’s eleventh consecutive term as board chairman and Millwood’s second term as vice chairman. The two, elected from Oglethorpe Power’s board of directors, will hold their officers’ positions for the next year.

Denham, a member of the Irwin Electric Membership Corp. board, Ocilla, Ga., is an at-large member director of the Oglethorpe Power board. Millwood, a member of the Sawnee EMC board, Cumming, Ga., is also an at-large member director of the Oglethorpe Power board.

In elections at the annual meeting, Denham was also re-elected to the Oglethorpe Power board. Others re-elected to the board include Sam Simonton, Walton EMC; Fred McWhorter, Rayle EMC; George Weaver, Central Georgia EMC; and Hill Bentley, Tri-County EMC.

Oglethorpe Power Corp. is one of the nation’s largest power supply cooperatives with more than $8 billion in assets serving 38 electric membership corporations that, collectively, provide electricity to 4.1 million Georgians.

OPC operates an energy portfolio includes natural gas, hydroelectric, coal and nuclear generating plants with a combined capacity of about 7,060 MW, as well as purchased power.

OPC was established in 1974 and is owned by its 38 member systems. It is headquartered in Tucker, Georgia.

Previous articleSan Onofre Nuclear outage destabilizing energy prices in California
Next articleSPX Corp. to service combined cycle power plant in Israel

No posts to display