Beaver Valley Nuclear Power Station wins American Nuclear Society award

Akron, Ohio, December 2, 2011 — FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Co., a unit of FirstEnergy Corp., announced that its Beaver Valley Nuclear Power Station Unit 1 has been honored with the 2011 Utility Achievement Award for Best Performance by the American Nuclear Society.

The award recognizes Beaver Valley Unit 1 for being the top performing plant among all U.S. nuclear plants for 2010. This is the second time Beaver Valley earned this distinction; the station also was presented the award for its performance in 2006.

Beaver Valley Unit 1’s high operational standards led to safe, reliable and cost-effective performance in 2010 and the generation of 7.1 million MWh of clean electricity. The station also recorded a breaker-to-breaker run of 500 days between its past two refueling outages and has operated for more than five years without an unplanned shut down.

These achievements reflect the site’s strong equipment reliability focus, which includes effective and well-planned refueling outages and a successful preventive maintenance strategy.

In personal safety, Beaver Valley Unit 1 ranked among the best in the industry with more than 3 million person-hours worked without a lost time accident and zero OSHA recordable injuries during 2010.

ANS is an organization of scientists, engineers and other professionals devoted to the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. The ANS Utility Achievement Award was established in 1994 by the group’s Operations and Power Division to recognize the commercial nuclear power plants that demonstrate outstanding achievements in performance.

FirstEnergy is a diversified energy company headquartered in Akron, Ohio. Its FENOC subsidiary operates the two-unit Beaver Valley Power Station in Shippingport, Pa., the Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station in Oak Harbor, Ohio, and the Perry Nuclear Power Plant in Perry, Ohio.

Previous articleSCE&G activates rooftop solar project atop Boeing assembly building
Next articleThomas W. Elward appointed Dynegy board chairman

No posts to display