Many Northeast Ohio electric customers must make decision by August 5

COLUMBUS, Ohio, Aug. 1, 2003 — The Ohio Consumers’ Counsel (OCC), the residential utility advocate, alerts electric customers in many Northeast Ohio communities of an important electric decision that must be made by August 5.

Electric customers of the 112 communities that purchase electricity through the Northeast Ohio Public Energy Council (NOPEC), an energy aggregator, should have received information about how to join, remain in or withdraw from the NOPEC aggregation program.

The mailing provides details about the rate being offered by Green Mountain Energy, the Texas-based company chosen by NOPEC to provide electricity to customers. Those customers will receive the mailing whether or not they are already participating in the aggregation program.

What is electric aggregation?

Electric aggregation is the process of joining consumers together as a group to buy electricity. In Ohio, electric aggregation programs are required to give customers the opportunity to opt out of the program at no cost at least once every two years.

With the original agreements scheduled to end, Green Mountain Energy is giving customers a chance to decide whether to join, remain in the aggregated group or opt out of the program.

How will residents be affected?

Residents in the aggregated group are automatically included in the program and will be served by Green Mountain Energy unless they opt out of the program by August 5. After the initial opt out period, consumers who join or remain in the program will receive a letter from either Ohio Edison or Cleveland Electric Illuminating notifying them that Green Mountain Energy will supply their electricity.

Consumers will have seven days from the postmark date on this letter to withdraw from the Aggregation program at no cost, after which time a $25 fee will be charged to withdraw from the program.

Residents who opt out of the aggregated group will continue to purchase their electricity supply from Ohio Edison or Cleveland Electric Illuminating or their existing competitive electric supplier.

Whether residents participate in the buying group or not, either Ohio Edison or Cleveland Electric Illuminating, will continue to deliver the electricity to their homes, repair poles and wires and send customers their monthly bill.

Residential consumers can contact the OCC toll free at 1-877-PICKOCC (1-877-742-5622) or at to request more information about the aggregation process or energy choice programs.

About the Ohio Consumers’ Counsel

The Ohio Consumers’ Counsel (OCC) is the residential utility advocate serving as a resource for individuals who have questions and concerns or would like more information about the services provided by their publicly owned electric, natural gas, telephone and water companies. The state agency also educates consumers about utility issues and resolves complaints from individuals. To receive utility information brochures, schedule a presentation or file a utility complaint, residential consumers may call 1-877-PICKOCC (1-877-742-5622) or visit the OCC website at .

Ashtabula County: Ashtabula (City), Conneaut, Geneva (Village), Geneva-on- the-Lake, Jefferson, North Kingsville, Orwell Village, Roaming Shores, Rock Creek, Ashtabula Co. Townships.

Cuyahoga County: Beachwood, Bedford, Bedford Heights, Bentleyville, Berea, Bratenahl, Brecksville, Broadview Heights, Brook Park, Brooklyn, Brooklyn Heights, Chagrin Falls (City), Cuyahoga Heights, East Cleveland, Fairview Park, Garfield Heights, Glenwillow, Highland Heights (City), Hunting Valley, Independence, Lakewood, Linndale, Lyndhurst, Maple Heights, Mayfield Village, Middleburg Heights, Moreland Hills, Newburgh Heights, North Olmsted, North Randall, North Royalton, Oakwood, Olmsted Township, Olmsted Falls, Orange, Parma Heights, Pepper Pike, Shaker Heights, Solon, South Euclid, University Heights, Valley View, Walton Hills, Warrensville Heights.

Geauga County: Burton (Village), Chardon (City), Middlefield (Village), South Russell, Geauga County Townships.

Lake County: Eastlake, Fairport Harbor, Grand River, Kirtland, Kirtland Hills, Lakeline, Madison (Village), Mentor, Mentor-on-the-Lake, Timberlake, Waite Hill, Wickliffe, Willoughby, Willoughby Hills, Willowick, Lake County Townships.

Lorain County: Avon, Avon Lake, Elyria, Lorain, North Ridgeville, South Amherst, Sheffield Lake, Sheffield Village.

Medina County: Brunswick, Medina.

Portage County: Hiram Village, Kent, Portage County Townships.

Summit County: Clinton, Lakemore, Macedonia, Northfield, Peninsula, Reminderville, Twinsburg, Summit County Townships.

Previous articleHow can a utility improve operations, reduce costs, and enhance customer satisfaction?
Next articleStudy finds utility winners during deregulation are companies that “stuck to their knitting”

No posts to display