Plant Vogtle gets early site permit

Birmingham, Ala., August 27, 2009 — The Nuclear Regulatory Commission issued an early site permit for the two new units of the Vogtle Electric Generating Plant in Waynesboro, Ga. Plant Vogtle is owned by Georgia Power, Oglethorpe Power Corp., the Municipal Electric Authority of Georgia and Dalton Utilities.

The permit is another step in the NRC’s new, streamlined licensing process designed to reduce regulatory uncertainty by completing the process in stages.

Completion of the permit process resolves many site-related safety and environmental issues, determines that the site is suitable for construction of a nuclear energy plant and successfully demonstrates the NRC’s licensing process. Southern Nuclear filed an application for the ESP in August 2006.

In addition to the permit, in March 2008, Southern Nuclear filed an application for a Combined License (COL) at the Vogtle site. The license provides one license to construct and operate a nuclear power plant. The license application is under review by the NRC. Pending appropriate approvals, Unit 3 will begin operating in 2016 and Unit 4 will become operational in 2017.

Georgia Power is the largest subsidiary of Southern Co. The company is an investor-owned, tax-paying utility with rates well below the national average. Georgia Power serves 2.3 million customers in all but four of Georgia’s 159 counties.

Oglethorpe Power Corp. is a power cooperative with about $5 billion in assets serving 38 Electric Membership Corporations which, collectively, provide electricity to 4.1 million Georgia citizens. Its diverse energy portfolio includes natural gas, hydroelectric, coal and nuclear generating plants with a combined capacity of about 5,200 MW, as well as purchased power.

The Municipal Electric Authority of Georgia (MEAG Power) is a public generation and transmission organization providing power to 49 Georgia communities with annual electric sales of $772 million and 10.6 million MWh of delivered energy in 2008.
Dalton Utilities has operated as a public utility since 1889. Dalton Utilities provides potable water, electrical, natural gas and wastewater treatment services to the City of Dalton and portions of Whitfield, Murray, Gordon, Catoosa and Floyd counties. Dalton Utilities serves about 65,000 customers.

Previous articleEnerNOC demand response enhances reliability of North American electric power grid
Next articleCapital expenditures in power sector rises slightly in second quarter

No posts to display