Automation Awards

Automation Awards

At the opening ceremonies of AM/FM International Conference XIX, several companies and individuals were honored for their outstanding or unique applications of AM/FM/GIS technology. The 1996 “Excellence Award” was presented to the Louisville and Jefferson County Information Consortium, consisting of the City of Louisville, Jefferson County, and Louisville & Jefferson County Metropolitan Sewer District. The “Special Achievement Award” went to Illinois Power for their Area Resource Management system–a combination work-management and AM/FM system integrated with a mainframe database to support legacy applications. The “Individual Service Award” was presented to Reinhard “Hardy” Meihsner, DPIS manager of Wisconsin Gas Co. Finally, the IKO (Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio) Chapter was named 1996 AM/FM Chapter of the year.

The Museum of Science and Industry inducted nine innovators who helped further the development of historical and modern manufacturing and automation into the Automation Hall of Fame at its third annual ceremony. Among the nine “Prometheus” medal recipients was Richard Morley, the inventor of the programmable logic controller, which has become a key tool in control-system architecture. In addition to being the founder of Modicon, Morley is widely recognized for his inventions and contributions to computer design, software development and artificial intelligence. Leonardo da Vinci (1452-1519) was also inducted into the Automation Hall of Fame having been an inspiration to generations of engineers, inventors and creative developers.

Microsoft Corp. awarded its Technical Innovations in Manufacturing “Leonardo” medal to Opto 22, Chevron Corp. and Intellution Inc.

The American Council of Consulting Engineers Council of Colorado honored Rothberg, Tamburini and Winsor for their analysis of Metro Wastewater Reclamation District`s wastewater transmission system and central plant facilities. The study included the development of a GIS database and hydraulic model of the District`s collection system, which serves approximately 1.25 million people in the metropolitan Denver area.

The Wisconsin Association of Consulting Engineers (WACE) announced the winner of their 1996 Engineering Excellence Awards Competition. WACE honored Ayres Associates for the Southwestern Wisconsin Seven-County Digital Ortho Consortium project.

Previous articlePOWERGRID_INTERNATIONAL Volume 1 Issue 3
Next articlePOWERGRID_INTERNATIONAL Volume 1 Issue 4
The Clarion Energy Content Team is made up of editors from various publications, including POWERGRID International, Power Engineering, Renewable Energy World, Hydro Review, Smart Energy International, and Power Engineering International. Contact the content lead for this publication at

No posts to display