National Public Power Association names 2005-2006 officers

WASHINGTON, D.C., June 27, 2005 — William J. Gallagher, general manager for the Vermont Public Power Supply Authority, Waterbury Center, Vt., was named chair of the board of directors of the American Public Power Association (APPA) at the association’s annual National Conference this week in Anaheim, Calif.

Gallagher has 42 years of electric utility business experience. Before joining Vermont Public Power Supply Authority in 1990, he worked with the Rural Electrification Administration and the Vermont Electric Cooperative. In 1985, he formed WJ Gallagher Associates, a managing consulting firm dealing exclusively with municipal utilities.

Gallagher serves on a number of APPA committees and task forces, and participates in the association’s research and development program, and political action committee. He holds a public power seat on the North American Energy Standards Board (NAESB) and until recently held one on the North American Electric Reliability Council (NERC). Gallagher also serves on the Vermont Transco Board of Directors and is a member of the New England Power Pool (NEPOOL) Participants Committee.

He has been honored with Distinguished Service Awards from both APPA and the Northeast Public Power Association (NEPPA), and is an NEPPA Honorary Lifetime Member.

John Twitty, general manager, City Utilities of Springfield, Mo., was named APPA’s chair-elect.; and Terry J. Huval, director of utilities, Lafayette, La., Utilities System, was named vice chair. Jan Schori, general manager, Sacramento, Calif., Municipal Utility District, will serve as immediate past chair. Mark Bonsall, associate general manager of commercial & customer services, Salt River Project, Phoenix, Ariz., continues as board treasurer.

In addition to the new officers, three individuals will join APPA’s board of directors to serve three-year terms: William Dollar, assistant city manager, Garland, Texas, Power and Light; Walter Haase, general manager, Jamestown, N.Y., Board of Public Utilities; and David R. Walters, general manager, Zeeland, Mich., Board of Public Works.

Tommy Boroughs, president, Orlando, Fla., Utilities Commission, is the new chair of the association’s Policymakers Council and joins the board as an ex officio member.

Previous articleGeorgia Power investing additional $1.3 billion in environmental controls, reducing sulfur emissions about 50 percent
Next articleR. W. Beck, Mott MacDonald sign joint venture agreement
The Clarion Energy Content Team is made up of editors from various publications, including POWERGRID International, Power Engineering, Renewable Energy World, Hydro Review, Smart Energy International, and Power Engineering International. Contact the content lead for this publication at

No posts to display