Schori of Sacramento Municipal Utility District selected as chair of National Public Power Association

SEATTLE, Wash., June 25, 2004 — Jan Schori, general manager for Sacramento, Calif., Municipal Utility District (SMUD), was named chair of the board of directors of the American Public Power Association (APPA) at the association’s annual National Conference this week in Seattle, Wash.

For the past decade, Ms. Schori has been responsible for leading one of the largest community-owned electric utilities in the nation. She joined SMUD in 1979 as an attorney and served as general counsel for five years prior to her selection as general manager.

In addition to leadership within APPA, Ms. Schori is immediate past chair and a member of the steering committee of the Large Public Power Council. She is also a gubernatorial appointee to the board of the California Climate Action Registry and was elected its treasurer.

A native Sacramentan, Ms. Schori graduated from the Martin Luther King Jr. School of Law at the University of California, Davis, where she specialized in environmental law. She is a member of the California State Bar.

SMUD provides services to more than 550,000 customers (more than 1.3 million residents) over a 900-square-mile area.

William Gallagher, general manager, Vermont Public Power Supply Authority in Waterbury Center, Vt., was named APPA’s chair-elect. John Twitty, general manager, City Utilities of Springfield, Mo., was named vice chair. Glenn Cannon, general manager, Waverly, Iowa, Light and Power will serve as immediate past chair. Mark Bonsall, associate general manager of commercial & customer service, Salt River Project, Phoenix, Ariz., continues as board treasurer.

In addition to the new officers, five individuals will join APPA’s board of directors to serve three-year terms: William M. Carroll, general manager, Greenville, Tenn., Light & Power System; Joe Mathieu, board member, Springfield, Ore., Utility Board; David W. Osburn, general manager & CEO, Richmond, Ind., Power & Light; Jesse C. Tilton, III, president & CEO, ElectriCities of North Carolina in Raleigh, N.C.; and, Thomas L. Trenbeath, city administrator and attorney, Cavalier, N.D., Municipal Utilities.

Lonnie N. Carter, president & CEO, Santee Cooper in Moncks Corner, S.C., was elected to complete the term of Malcolm Green, former general manager/CEO of Greenville, N.C., Utilities Commission who died in March. Carter’s term will expire in 2005.

Previous articleGerard Anderson named president of DTE Energy
Next articleWorld’s largest infrared users’ conference to be held in Las Vegas
The Clarion Energy Content Team is made up of editors from various publications, including POWERGRID International, Power Engineering, Renewable Energy World, Hydro Review, Smart Energy International, and Power Engineering International. Contact the content lead for this publication at

No posts to display