Conservation Services Group announces environment, efficiency awards

Westborough, Mass., October 27, 2009 — Conservation Services Group announced awards for 15 outstanding environmental and energy advocates honored during a formal ceremony this month.

Award winners and CSG executives were joined by more than 200 environmental and energy efficiency advocates, politicians and state officials at a Silver Anniversary reception at Boston’s Lenox Hotel.

CSG CEO Stephen Cowell kicked off the event by presenting an award to Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick for “Excellence in Environmental Advocacy.” Held during National Energy Awareness Month, the event thanked shareholders, clients, CSG staff and other constituents for their ongoing support of sound energy and environmental policies and “green” initiatives.

“Governor Patrick’s award recognizes exceptional leadership and advocacy of the most groundbreaking string of energy legislation in the country,” said Cowell, who presented the first award of the evening to the governor. Cowell said, “You can’t compare what Governor Patrick’s administration has done for green energy legislation to any other administration. The Governor’s exceptional leadership has enabled significant victories for our industry including the Massachusetts Green Communities Act, the Global Warming Solutions Act and the Green Jobs Act.”

In his acceptance speech, Governor Patrick praised his administration, state legislators, CSG and guests, as visionaries and pacesetters for their ongoing commitment to energy efficiency. He said, “I accept this award in gratitude for the partnership you have all shown us in these areas. I acknowledge Steve [Cowell] and the team, and all of you, who are represented here for your advocacy. We can fuel our future with smarter, better and more efficient use of the energy we have today. I know that’s what you and CSG have been about and that’s also what we wish to be about. We look forward to a long and fruitful partnership.”

Other CSG honorees are:

National Leadership Award
US Congressman Ed Markey

Legislative Leaders Award
Mass. Rep. Brian Dempsey and Frank Smizik
Mass. State Senator Michael Morrissey

Energy Vision Award
Douglas Foy, president, Serafix and former head of Conservation Law foundation
Armond Cohen, executive director, Clean Air Task Force

Advocacy Award
John Wells, vice president, Action for Boston Community Development
Elliott Jacobson, director, Neighborhood Action, Inc.

Unsung Hero Award
Paul Gromer, president, Peregrine Energy Group

Excellence in Collaboration
David O’Connor, senior vice president, ML Strategies and former Mass. Energy Commissioner
Rick Sergel, president and CEO, North American Electric Reliability Corp.
Jonathan Raab, Raab Associates, Ltd.

Excellence in Diplomacy
Henry Yoshimura, director of demand-resource strategy, ISO New England

Outstanding Service
Brad Steele, president, Energy Federation, Inc.
Laura McNaughton, National Grid residential energy efficiency services manager and one of CSG’s first employees.

Conservation Services Group, a non-profit organization, was founded in 1984. Based in Westborough, Mass., the firm has more than 500 employees in 14 offices throughout the U.S. CSG provides energy saving strategies, program design, management services and renewable energy technologies to consumers and businesses nationwide.

Previous articlePresident Obama announces $3.4 billion investment in smart grid
Next articleTelvent smart grid DMS improves performance at University of Michigan
The Clarion Energy Content Team is made up of editors from various publications, including POWERGRID International, Power Engineering, Renewable Energy World, Hydro Review, Smart Energy International, and Power Engineering International. Contact the content lead for this publication at

No posts to display