Fluid Sealing Association presents environmental protection awards

Dec. 8, 2003 — The Fluid Sealing Association and its member companies recently recognized significant contributions to a better living environment through its Excellence in Environmental Protection awards.

Competitors came from the worldwide petroleum, chemical processing and power industries. Winners of this annual contest were the teams submitting case studies that an independent panel of academic and industry experts determined demonstrated the highest positive impact on the environment through the reduction of fugitive emissions, minimizing the requirements for cooling water and achieving more efficient use of electric power through the effective application of new fluid sealing products and procedures.

Judges found winning teams not only to have simply complied with Environmental Protection Agency Standards, but also to have exceeded them through the improved performance and efficiency offered by the latest developments in fluid sealing technology. Complete texts of all winning cases are available on the FSA web site http://www.fluidsealing.com/.

Founded in 1933, the Fluid Sealing Association’s membership represents over 85% of the manufacturing capacity for fluid sealing devices in North America. Membership is concentrated in North America, but also includes a number of companies in Europe, Asia and South America.

Each competing team included an FSA member along with one of its end-user clients. The judging panel consisted of academics and plant engineers outside the Association selected for their exceptional knowledge of the industry and its processes.

It included Ron Darby, Professor of Chemical Engineering, Texas A&M; Stanley Grossel, Process Engineering Consultant, Process Safety and Design; and Francis Kludt, Rotating Equipment Reliability Engineering Associate, Celanese Chemical Corporation. This panel reviewed and evaluated all submissions and chose the winners based on their highest positive environmental impact.

This year’s AWARD recipients were: –

JM Clipper, with Rohm & Haas Company, Deer Park, TX USA
Grand Champion; also Champion-Metallic Gaskets Division
A.W. Chesterton, with Kinder Morgan, Delta Terminal, Harvey, LA USA
Grand Champion – Runner Up; also Champion-Mechanical Seals Division

Dyneon, with IDT Industrie, Essen, Germany
Champion – Non-Metallic Gaskets Division

Teadit N.A. Inc., with Weatherford PC Pump Ltd, Lloydminster, AB CANADA
Champion – Compression Packings Division

Other teams judged to have made “Significant Contributions” were Dyneon / IDT Industrie, Essen, Germany (Metallic Gaskets), W.L. Gore & Assoc. / ChevronTexaco Inc., Richmond, CA (Non-Metallic Gaskets), A.W. Chesterton / International Paper, Jay, ME (Mechanical Seals), Empak Spirotallic-Mexicana/The Walworth Company, Houston, TX (Metallic Gaskets)

Previous articleAlliance Data Systems acquires utility outsourcer
Next articleEmmert and Fagioli form a new company within the U.S.

No posts to display