People & Companies

Utilities and Associations

TXU Electric & Gas has promoted Dan Farell tot he presidency of the distribution divisions of TXU Electric Co. and TXU Gas Co. in Texas. Joining TXU in 1972, Farell has held numerous management positions in the company, including most recently serving as executive vice president of its distribution business unit.

Texas Independent Energy, a 50-50 joint venture of Panda Energy International of Dallas and PSEG Global of New Jersey, has named James C. Collins vice president of business development and Byron T. Gannaway vice president of energy management. Collins was formerly regional marketing executive for Louisville Gas and Electric, while Gannaway was director of fuels acquisitions with Panda Energy.

Carl W. Porter has resigned as president and chief operating officer of Semco Energy Inc. His resignation took effect July 31st; he cited personal reasons. William L. Johnson, chairman and CEO of Semco Energy, will resume the duties of president of the company.

Todd W. Carter has been named president of Panda Energy. He joined Panda in 1990 and has held a variety of positions in business development, finance and marketing. Prior to this promotion, he served as senior vice president of corporate finance. Jerry Thurmond is also assuming new duties at Panda’s. He’s been named chief financial officer. Before joining Panda, Thurmond served as vice president of finance for the Nelson Bunker Hunt Trust Estate.

Kenneth T. Lombard was elected president of the City of Los Angeles Board of Water and Power Commissioners. A resident of Los Angeles, Lombard assumes this post after three years on the commission, replacing Rick Caruso as president. Caruso will remain a board member. Lombard is president of Johnson Development Corp./Magic Johnson Theatres. Prior to his election, he served as vice president of the board.

David W. Osburn, general manager and CEO of Richmond Power & Light, has been voted to the board of directors of the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI). An appointee of the American Public Power Association, he will serve a four-year term.

Wisconsin Energy board of directors has elected three officers: Richard Grigg, vice president of Wisconsin Energy was named senior vice president; Larry Salustro, vice president of Wisconsin Energy, was elected senior vice president and general counsel; and James C. Donnelly, president and CEO of Sta-Rite Industries Inc., was named president and CEO of WICOR Industries, a subsidiary of Wisconsin Energy.

Leslie J. Parrette has been appointed senior vice president and general counsel for UtiliCorp United. Parrette joined UtiliCorp from the Kansas City law firm of Blackwell Sanders Peper Martin, where he has been chair of the firm’s international practice group since 1995.

Pacific Gas & Electric elected Kim Walsh as vice president for communications. Walsh joined the company in May 1999 as manager of the news department, overseeing media relations.

Energy Marketers

USPowerSolutions, a B2B service provider in e-commerce technology, appointed Key Compton to its board of directors. Compton is the founder and CEO of Solbright Inc., a NY-based ASP offering digital media solutions and automating Internet advertising workflows.

Dynegy Inc. has named Maria Anzilotti vice president of business systems and Griff Jones vice president of power trading. Anzilotti worked previously with Enron Capital & Trade. Jones was most recently senior director of midwest power and senior director of northeast power trading. Dynegy executive vice president John U. Clarke has resigned.

Utilconnect, an enterprise application service provider (ASP) for the utility industry, has appointed Dave Hyland vice president of sales (energy). Hyland most recently served as director of sales for


Haliburton Co.’s chairman of the board and CEO, Dick Cheney, has accepted the invitation of George W. Bush to be Bush’s vice presidential running mate. As a result, Cheney resigned from Haliburton’s board of directors in late July with the resignation taking effect August 16th. David Lesar has been appointed to replace Cheney. He’s currently Haliburton’s president and chief operating officer. Lesar joined Haliburton in 1993 as executive vice president and chief financial officer of Haliburton and president and CEO of Brown & Root Inc.

Gerald B. Smith, chairman and CEO of Smith Graham & Co., has been elected to the board of directors of Cooper Industries Inc. Smith co-founded Smith Graham & Co., an investment management firm, in 1990.

Previous articlePOWERGRID_INTERNATIONAL Volume 5 Issue 7
Next articleTVA mulls fuel cell plant that will store electricity
The Clarion Energy Content Team is made up of editors from various publications, including POWERGRID International, Power Engineering, Renewable Energy World, Hydro Review, Smart Energy International, and Power Engineering International. Contact the content lead for this publication at

No posts to display