The Smart Grid Interoperability Panel elects board of directors

New directors are Dave Hardin, senior director of Smart Grid Standards at EnerNOC; Tom Herbst, director at Silver Spring Networks; Suresh Kotha, professor at University of Washington; Doug McGinnis, senior manager of Network Services at Exelon; and Steve Widergren, principal engineer at Pacific Northwest National Lab. The effective term for these members began on July 1, 2013.

2013 SGIP Board of Directors:


  • John McDonald, director, Technical Strategy and Policy Development, GE’s Digital Energy Business

President & Executive Director

  • Patrick Gannon, SGIP


  • John Caskey, assistant vice president, Industry Operations, NEMA
  • Mike Coop, founder & managing director, ThinkSmartGrid
  • Rik Drummond, CEO & chief scientist, Drummond Group
  • David Forfia, director, IT Projects, Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT)
  • Barry Haaser, founder, Lakeview Group
  • Dave Hardin, senior director, Smart Grid Standards, EnerNOC
  • Tom Herbst, director, Silver Spring Networks
  • Brent Hodges, premise energy management, Tendril Networks
  • Suresh Kotha, chief enterprise architect and information technology manager, Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD)
  • Bill Lawrence, chief technologist, Energy and Cyber Services, Lockheed Martin
  • Brian Markwalter, senior vice president, Research and Standards, Consumer Electronics Association (CEA)
  • Doug McGinnis, senior manager, Network Services, Exelon
  • John Nunneley, executive director, CTO and Co-Founder, SunSpec Alliance
  • Bob Saint, technical advisor, T&D Engineering System Planning Subcommittee, Natural Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA)
  • Tariq Samad, corporate fellow, Honeywell Automation and Control Solutions
  • Robby Simpson, system architect, GE’s Digital Energy Business
  • Mark Smith, consumer smart energy solutions principal, Reliant Energy
  • Scott Ungerer, founder and managing director, EnerTech Capital
  • Steve Widergren, principal engineer, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Click here for bios

Previous articleWind farm dedicated in Estonia
Next articleFoxconn, maker of Apple iPhones, considers getting into solar power
The Clarion Energy Content Team is made up of editors from various publications, including POWERGRID International, Power Engineering, Renewable Energy World, Hydro Review, Smart Energy International, and Power Engineering International. Contact the content lead for this publication at

No posts to display