American Public Power Association names new officers

Walter Haase, general manager of Navajo Tribal Utility Authority in Fort Defiance, Arizona, was installed as chair of the American Public Power Association board of directors at the APPA’s conference in Orlando, Florida.

Coleman Smoak, general manager of Piedmont Municipal Power Agency in Greer, South Carolina, is the APPA’s chair-elect for 2017-18. William Gaines, director/CEO of Tacoma Public Utilities in Washington, is vice chair. Andy Boatright, deputy director of City of Independence Power & Light in Missouri, is immediate past chair. Paul McElroy, CEO and managing director of JEA in Jacksonville, Florida, is treasurer.

Haase chose five members of the board to serve with the officers on the APPA executive committee. They are: Decosta Jenkins, president and CEO of Nashville Electric Service in Tennessee; Andrew McMahon, superintendent for the town of Massena, New York; Scott Miller, general manager of City Utilities of Springfield, Missouri; Jacqueline Sargent, general manager of Austin Energy in Texas; and Jolene Thompson, executive vice president of member services and external affairs for American Municipal Power and executive director of the Ohio Municipal Electric Association in Columbus, Ohio.

Newly elected to the Association board this year are: Layne Burningham chief operating officer/general manager of Utah Municipal Power Agency in Spanish Fork, Utah and Joel Ledbetter, general manager of Easley Combined Utilities in Easley, South Carolina.

Due to taking a new position, Jacqueline Sargent, general manager of Austin Energy in Texas, ended her term representing Region 1 and was elected to a new term representing Region 4.

Six board members were re-elected to new three-year terms: Anthony Cannon, general manager/CEO of Greenville Utilities in North Carolina; William Gaines, director/CEO of Tacoma Public Utilities in Washington; Leslie James, executive director of Colorado River Energy Distributors Association in Phoenix, Arizona; Andrew McMahon, superintendent for the Town of Massena, New York; Leon Schochenmaier, city administrator for Pierre Municipal Utilities in South Dakota; and Daniel Sullivan, CEO of Grand River Dam Authority in Vinita, Oklahoma.

Previous articleArizona Public Service customers set utility record for electricity use
Next articleWorkplace electric vehicle chargers to increase ten times by 2022
The Clarion Energy Content Team is made up of editors from various publications, including POWERGRID International, Power Engineering, Renewable Energy World, Hydro Review, Smart Energy International, and Power Engineering International. Contact the content lead for this publication at

No posts to display