American Public Power Association names new officers

Washington, D.C., June 20, 2012 — Phyllis Currie, general manager of Pasadena Water and Power in California, was installed as chair of the American Public Power Association board of directors yesterday at the association’s National Conference in Seattle, Wash.

Currie joined Pasadena Water and Power in 2001. Before joining Pasadena, she had a30-year career with the city of Los Angeles that included a post as chief financial officer for the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power from 1992 to 1999.

Currie is an active participant in the utility industry, and currently serves on the boards of the Southern California Public Power Authority and the California Municipal Utilities Association. She is also a member of the American Water Works Association, the Government Finance Officers Association, the American Association of Blacks in Energy and the National Forum of Black Public Administrators.

“We are thrilled to welcome Phyllis as APPA’s 2012-2013 board chair,” said APPA President and CEO Mark Crisson. “Phyllis has been a respected leader of our industry for many years. We are grateful to have the benefit of her leadership and expertise on the board as we tackle the challenges facing our industry in the coming year.”

Gary Stauffer, executive director of NMPP Energy in Lincoln, Neb., is APPA’s chair-elect for 2012-2013 and Paula DiFonzo, CEO of New Braunfels Utilities in Texas, is vice chair. William Carroll, general manager of Greeneville Light and Power System in Tennessee, is immediate past chair. W. Leon Pexton, general manager and chief operating officer of the Utah Municipal Power Agency is treasurer.

Currie chose five members of the board to serve with the officers on the APPA Executive Committee. They are: Andrew Boatright, electric utility manager of Westerville Electric in Ohio; John DiStasio, general manager and CEO of the Sacramento Municipal Utility District in California; Bob Johnston, president and CEO of MEAG Power in Atlanta, Ga.; Jim Posey, general manager of Anchorage Municipal Light and Power Department in Alaska; and Bob Williams, general manager of the Carthage Water and Electric Plant in Missouri.

Newly elected to the APPA board this year are: Paul H. Beckhusen, director of theColdwater Board of Public Utilities in Michigan; John Bilda, general manager of Norwich Public Utilities in Connecticut; Bill Bottiggi, general manager of Braintree Electric Light Department in Massachusetts; Otoniel Cruz, executive director of the Puerto Rico Electric Power Authority; Colin Hansen, executive director of Kansas Municipal Utilities; Decosta E. Jenkins, president and CEO of Nashville Electric Service in Tennessee; Diane Johnson, general manager of Waverly Light and Power in Iowa; Kevin Wailes, administrator and CEO of theLincoln Electric System in Nebraska; and Phil Williams, general manager of Denton Municipal Electric in Texas.

Three board members were re-elected to another three-year term: Austin Carroll, general manager of the Hopkinsville Electric System in Kentucky; John DiStasio, general manager and CEO of SMUD, and Lynne Tejeda, general manager and CEO Keys Energy Services in Key West, Florida.

APPA board members are chosen to represent 10 regions across the country.

Previous articleFirst Solar to start module installation at AV Solar Ranch One
Next articleAustralia, New Zealand show promising wind power markets
The Clarion Energy Content Team is made up of editors from various publications, including POWERGRID International, Power Engineering, Renewable Energy World, Hydro Review, Smart Energy International, and Power Engineering International. Contact the content lead for this publication at

No posts to display