Pacific Gas and Electric Corp. to elect new chairman, CEO

@font-face {“MS 明朝”; }@font-face {“Cambria Math”; }@font-face {“Cambria”; }p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt; font-size: 12pt;”Cambria”,”serif”; }a:link, span.MsoHyperlink { color: blue; text-decoration: underline; }a:visited, span.MsoHyperlinkFollowed { color: purple; text-decoration: underline; }.MsoChpDefault { font-size: 10pt;”Cambria”,”serif”; }div.WordSection1 { page: WordSection1; }

San Francisco, April 25, 2011 The board of directors of PG&E Corp. will elect a new chairman, CEO and president in the weeks ahead to succeed current Chairman, CEO and President Peter A. Darbee, who will retire effective April 30, 2011.

On an interim basis, the board has named its Lead Director, Lee Cox, to serve as chairman, CEO and president. Cox is the retired vice chairman of AirTouch Communications, Inc., and retired president and CEO of AirTouch Cellular. He has been a member of PG&E’s board since 1996.

Cox said, “Peter concluded that a change in leadership would create the best opportunity for PG&E to move ahead after a challenging year. The board supported his decision. The search for Peter’s replacement is already underway, and an announcement is expected soon.”

Cox also noted that the company’s utility unit, Pacific Gas and Electric Co., will continue to be led by President Christopher P. Johns.

He added, “Peter has demonstrated exceptional vision and leadership. He has guided PG&E to become one of the industry’s most innovative and environmentally committed utilities. His contributions have helped move PG&E and the industry forward. We are grateful to him.”

Darbee said, “It’s been my extraordinary privilege to be a PG&E employee for more than a decade and to serve as CEO. No company has a more dedicated team of people working to deliver for its customers. I am deeply grateful for the support and inspiration our employees have given me over these many years.”

Darbee joined PG&E Corp. in 1999 as Chief Financial Officer. He was appointed CEO in 2005 and assumed the additional role of chairman of the board in 2006.

Previous articleEntergy proposes joining regional transmission organization
Next articleNextEra Energy records its lowest air emissions rates ever in 2010
The Clarion Energy Content Team is made up of editors from various publications, including POWERGRID International, Power Engineering, Renewable Energy World, Hydro Review, Smart Energy International, and Power Engineering International. Contact the content lead for this publication at

No posts to display