Webcasts

December 3, 2020 at 12:00 PM EST / 11:00 AM CST / 9:00 AM PST / 5:00 PM GMT

In the United States, our grid infrastructure is aging.
How do ensure organizations that are critical to public well-being are protected?
Enter Microgrids
Microgrids are a solution to stabilize energy cost, increase resilience and lower carbon emissions. Microgrids enable critical facilities like hospitals to continue to operate at full capacity in emergency situations or power shutoffs. And now, with business model innovations like energy-as-a-service, accessing the benefits of a Microgrid have never been easier.

December 16, 2020 | 8am PST | 10am CT | 11am ET | 5pm CET

Water conservation, recapturing lost revenue from leaks and theft, and reducing utility operating costs are key benefits of a smart metering solution. Governments and utilities need reliable, long-lasting solutions that can be deployed securely and quickly. Balancing the needs of regulatory requirements while minimizing costs and maintaining quality is difficult.

Cybersecurity

September 14, 2020 at 2:00 PM EDT / 1:00 PM CDT / 11:00 AM PDT / 6:00 PM GMT

In today’s constantly connected world, most would agree the need for cybersecurity is real and growing. Trends like IIoT, Big Data and Digitalization continue to open the electric utility industry to more possibilities, more efficiency, but also more risk. With deep security, networking and substation expertise, we understand the challenges and importance of defining and achieving security goals in an already demanding industry.

T&D

September 11, 2020 at 11:00 AM EDT / 10:00 AM CDT / 8:00 AM PDT / 3:00 PM GMTModern utilities have huge volumes of data that can be used to achieve asset optimization and risk management. Data is sourced from many areas—SCADA and devices, human operations, customer interactions, regulatory criteria, disparate software systems, and many others. Learn how take advantage of this valuable data and create value in your organization.
Energy Storage

August 6, 2020 at 11:00 AM EDT / 10:00 AM CDT / 8:00 AM PDT / 3:00 PM GMT

Pumped storage hydropower makes up the vast majority of all installed grid-scale energy storage capacity worldwide. This technology is ideally positioned to support the integration of intermittent renewables (wind and solar) into the electric grid, which is growing exponentially worldwide. Join us for this webcast where representatives of companies that own, support or are developing pumped storage plants globally will provide their perspectives on this important topic – and its future.

Communication Technology

July 30, 2020 at 11:00 AM EDT / 10:00 AM CDT / 8:00 AM PDT / 3:00 PM GMT

In May 2020, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) took action to make six MHz of low-band spectrum available for the development of critical wireless broadband technologies and services. This long-awaited proposal aims to modernize the 900 MHz spectrum band so utilities can deploy private, secure LTE networks across their infrastructure to enhance grid cybersecurity and modernize the aging power grid. 
Please join us for this informative webcast.

Energy Storage

This event was recorded June 26, 2020 and is now available for on demand viewing.

Contractors and their utility partners must deal with the cybersecurity challenges, considering the remote nature of planning work in this new era. Beyond COVID-19, EPCs and utilities are navigating new paths and new types of generation projects. How do RFPs for utility-scale wind and energy storage projects address gaps between full and partial wrap? Summer weather-fire dangers? What are key differences between EPC for renewables vs. conventional thermal plants? And, with the former, how do contractors and project leaders handle reverse flow issues?

News

This event was recorded June 9, 2020 and is now available for on demand viewing.

Join ABB’s industry experts John Glassmire and Stanislav Cherevatskiy for an online discussion on BESS. The webinar will focus on high-value services such as virtual synchronous generator, black start and virtual inertia, among others. Learn to replicate the ESCRI success story in your network!

Smart Grid

This event was recorded June 2, 2020 and is now available for on demand viewing.

This webcast will present how VPI Charge quickly configured and deployed LocusView’s digital as-builting solution to its construction crews who were collecting data within 4 hours of in-field training. VPI Charge now regularly collects digital as-built data with a mobile application and high-accuracy GPS providing improved construction efficiency, real-time construction oversight and optimized project costs.

T&D

This event was recorded May 13, 2020 and is now available for on demand viewing.

In this webcast, electric utility executives will talk about the challenges of ensuring the health of their essential workers while also keeping their operations running smoothly. They will discuss what has worked, as well as what adjustments were necessary.